6 Ways to Use Your Downtime as a Freelancer

Angela Tague
4 min readApr 19, 2024

When you’re caught up on your paid writing projects, and waiting for feedback or revision requests from your clients, what do you do? A PTO day can refresh your creativity if you’re feeling mentally exhausted.

But, if you’re focused and energetic, schedule a day to work on your number one business client: YOU.

I’m always surprised when I hear small business folks talk about fitting their business promotion, marketing and website updates in when they have time. That’s a haphazard approach. You need to regularly dedicate time to work on your business, not in it.

Next time you have a free afternoon, day or week, try polishing your business assets

What to Do As a Freelance Writer with Downtime

Over the years I’ve been asked in online chats and interviews how I make time for this blog, updating my website and marketing my writing services across multiple social media feeds.

I schedule it.

I treat my business as my number one client and give it attention each day. I do this to keep the pipeline of projects coming in and to keep my name top of mind with my readers, editors and clients.

1. Update your business website.

--

--

Angela Tague

Angela Tague writes marketing content for businesses and feature articles for magazines. Learn more at WebWritingAdvice.com.