How to Get Free Products to Review on Your Blog

Angela Tague
5 min readFeb 22, 2024

Have you ever read a detailed product review and thought, “I have to try that!”

Well, sales professionals across the globe sure hope you do.

Marketing, advertising and public relations firms love first-person insight on the products and services they’re being paid to promote.

Ok, so back to that blog post. Do you ever get to the bottom of the text and scan the disclaimer about the product being complementary for the purpose of a review and say to yourself, “Heck, I could write these types of blog posts!”.

I did. Now, I write those reviews too.

Lately, writer friends have been asking how I get free goodies to review. Well, I’m sorry to disappoint you, but there’s no magic website or list to join. I’ve earned the free items by networking.

Actually, this process is almost easier than joining some special website or program. I’m happy to share the two main ways I’ve received enough beauty products to fill my bathroom cupboard and cookbooks to keep me whipping up new recipes until I’m 103.

Update: Hello! This post was originally drafted and published in 2014. Now, it’s 2024–10 years later — and I have some new perspectives! Actually, you can sign up for websites that will funnel free products into your mailbox. Yep…

--

--

Angela Tague

Angela Tague writes marketing content for businesses and feature articles for magazines. Learn more at WebWritingAdvice.com.